Michael Wysession

Teaching and Education Workshop

Professor of geophysics in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, Michael Wysession will participate in the Teaching and Education Workshop of Summit Session 3 on October 23, at 10:45am central time.

Michael Wysession’s Biography

Dr. Michael E. Wysession is a professor of geophysics in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, where he is also Executive Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning. An established leader in seismology and geoscience education, Wysession’ more than 100 published papers include research on the composition and structure of Earth’s core-mantle boundary region, seismic attenuation within Earth’s mantle, the visualization of the propagation of seismic waves, intraplate seismicity, the structure of the Mid-continent Rift, the tectonics and structure of African plates, and the seismic detection of military and other explosive sources.

Wysession is a leader in geoscience literacy and education. He has coauthored more than 35 textbook volumes, ranging from national elementary, middle, and high school science programs to a leading graduate-level seismology textbook. Wysession was chair of the Earth Science Literacy Initiative, chair of Earth and Space Sciences for the National Academy of Sciences’ report A Framework for K-12 Science Education, and chair of Earth and Space Science for the writing of the new K-12 Next Generation Science Standards, the basis for the revision of grade school science programs in 45 states. Wysession is the author of four video lecture courses through the “Great Courses” video series: How the Earth Works, The World’s Greatest Geologic Wonders, National Geographic’s Polar Explorations, and The Science of Energy.

Wysession’s research and science literacy work have been recognized through a Packard Foundation Fellowship, an NSF Presidential Faculty Fellowship, the Innovation Award of the St. Louis Science Academy, the Distinguished Faculty Award of Washington University, the Ambassador Award from the American Geophysical Union, and the Frank Press Award from the Seismological Society of America.